Reality Check

Hey!

It’s been awhile since I’ve written and I apologize.  I’ve been discouraged lately in humanity and everything else dealing with what I am passionate about.

I started this blog to share concerns and to share tips about how to mitigate climate change but I think I also started this blog to share how I felt about the subject.

It’s a constant struggle believing that we can do something about climate change.  It’s really easy to talk about doing everything we can to slow down climate change but in reality, nobody is going to do anything about it.  Nobody really cares.  Most people think that we are already doomed from the damage that has already been done, so why start caring now.  I’m only one person, I do not have all the answers but I know we should start caring.

As you can see, I get caught up in the struggle of the “why care?” thoughts every now and then.

The most common question I get is, “Can we stop the effects of global warming?” Well first of all, it’s climate change because it’s more “politically correct” and no we cannot stop the effects, but we can slow the effects down.

The most common thing said to me is, “If we do all the things we need to do to mitigate climate change, like divest from fossil fuels, that will put a lot of people out of jobs and that will be bad for the economy” and those people are every environmentalists’ biggest enemy because they are usually business people and they only care about money.  As of right now, business people rule the majority.

The questions I have are…

  • Would educating people help this situation?
  • What can I do to make people see the issue at hand?

Anyways, that’s what I have been thinking about lately.  Hopefully, I will be able to post next weekend again! I am reading a new book about trail restoration and conservation so I hope that will be the topic!

Peace,

Concerned Ski Bum

P.S. We are getting closer to ski season!!!! Thank goodness!!!

Leave a Reply

